Allergen Awareness. Cereals (containing Gluten).
Our new weekly Food Safety blog continues with our Allergen Awareness them. This week we're taking a quick look at the allergenic ingredient of Cereals.
People with a gluten intolerance must avoid cereals like rye, wheat, and barley, and dishes made with these ingredients. Wheat flour is found in many foods: bread, cakes, pasta, pastry and meat products like burgers. Soups and sauces are often thickened with flour. Other dishes are dusted with flour, or are battered or bread-crumbed before cooking.
Common foods that contain Cereals (containing Glutens).
Cereals can be found in a variety of different forms including:
- Bread and Breadcrumbs
- Soups and foods dusted with flour
This is not an exhaustive list of Foods containing Cereals.
If you'd like to learn more about Food Safety topics, we'd recommend taking our online Food Safety Level Two course. Find out more about the course here.